Skip to content

The Personal Ramblings of Samm Diep

live ~ laugh ~ love

Okay, well, sort of.

Sunday was a typical yet unusual day. It kicked off with the regular morning Body Pump class but it was the special launch of Body Pump 73. YAY!!! Finally!!!!

We all showed off our guns for this pic. I’m in the front row. If you look real closely, you can see make out some definition in my arms. Yeah! My instructor/trainer Michelle is the fourth one in the front row with the perfect arms and legs.

Body Pump 73

Here’s the tracklist for the new release (courtesy of NZ Glen : BodyCombat fanatic):

01. Release Me – Linzi Paul
02. DOA – Telstarr
03. I Gotta Feeling – TransNoise
04. Mysterious Times (Kindervater vs Jens O Remix Edit) – Sash feat. Tina Cousins
05. Evacuate The Dancefloor – Studio88
06. New Divide – Crimson Ltd
07. When Love Takes Over – Olson Bjerre
08. Smells Like Teen Spirit (Voc Mix) – Warp Bros
09. S.O.S. (Let The Music Play) – Jordin Sparks
10. No Surprise – Daughtry

I’ve been very happy to show off my sporty new, adorable little gym bag. It’s so cute & tiny!

These are my personal BP essentials:

  • my mat (they have mats there but I prefer to bring my own)
  • my workout gloves
  • my barbell pad
  • my lifting hooks

Additional BP necessities:

  • a step with two risers
  • a bar w/ clips
  • two or four 10lb weights (depending on availability)
  • two 5lb weights
  • two or four 2 lb weights (depending on availability)

Other misc items that can be found in my miniature little gym bag:

  • padlock
  • notebook/pen
  • deodorant
  • extra pair of gym socks
  • towel
  • lip balm
  • water bottle
  • gym membership card
  • car keys

I love following Michelle around from gym to gym like a stalker for BP Wed-Fri (sometimes Saturday). She is the most phenomenal fitness instructor I’ve EVER seen. She walks around and meets/greats everybody before class, remembers your name, and calls it out during class, “Come on, Samm!” She’s so motivating! Not to mention, she has a rock solid bod! I just watch her in class and pretend like I’m staring in the mirror for inspiration. I recently started taking her Monday a.m. boot camp and that REALLY kicks your butt!

On Friday mornings, we’re at the ghetto gym with the old, beat up weights that leak. Yucky…

The unusual part of Sunday came after the gym, when I went trap shooting at Cherry Creek State Park with Chris Byrne, my cue sponsor and good friend. Last week, CB was telling me about his perfect scores at trap league and my curiosity led to an invitation and, well, there I was, earplugs, goggles, and shotgun in hand.

It was almost a beautiful day if it weren’t for all the darn wind! I had to bundle up with CB’s jacket.

Freezing my tail off on a windy day

I have to admit that after three consecutive days of BP, my arms/shoulders were a little weak for that big, heavy weapon. Of course, CB gave me the heaviest one because the recoil would not be as offensive. I still scared the p*ss out of myself the first time I pulled the trigger. Prior to that, the only gun I’d ever shot was full of water.

CB, trap shooting

CB was so patient. He explained equipment, mechanics, and even the etiquette of walking from position to position. Apparently, even when your gun is not loaded, other shooters don’t really like it when you accidentally aim the barrel at them when you pass by them. That’s a big no-no.

So, in trap (very similar to skeet), there are five  stations and you get five shots at each station for a possible score of 25. CB shot a 22, 23, and 23. Wow! In my first attempt, I shot a 4 (but hit my very first two shots!) but doubled my score in the next round with an 8.

5 positions of trap shooting

“Pull!”

When you’re all set and ready for your turn, you yell “Pull!” and Steve hits the button and a bright orange clay disk comes flying out from behind this bunker thing. Steve also keeps your score for you and, since he’s a very good shooter himself, he even tells you how you missed your last one.

Steve, our official "Puller"

I could see myself being very good at something like this since I have decent dexterity and hand-eye coordination (except when it comes to horseshoes, apparently). “Watch out, it’s addicting!” everyone warned me. It was fun but I think I’ll stick to pool. It’s much more difficult to injure myself.

my trap hickies - ouch!

After I got home from shooting, I did a little work and was off to practice. Maybe I had too much excitement or something but I got home around 10 and was in bed by 10:30 attempting to sleep off a horrible tummy ache.

My whole belly was swollen/bloated and I assumed it was just gas but it wasn’t getting any better. The pain ultimately woke me up around 1:30 and I was doubled over for the next hour. I was minutes from going to the emergency room when all of a sudden, it subsided. Thank goodness! I could’ve sworn my appendix had burst! Whew!

I’m much better today. I even made it to boot camp this morning but I can still feel some residual soreness and gurgling. 😦

Oh well, that’s a day in the life…

Tags: , , ,

