Skip to content

The Personal Ramblings of Samm Diep

live ~ laugh ~ love

Traveling light…. This is a concept I am not that familiar with. It’s not for lack of being an organized traveler nor that I’m a high-maintenance girl (although, I do have a weakness for fancy skin care products). It’s simply that not since 2002, have I once boarded an airplane without checking a bag.

You see, ever since 9/11, I’m required to check my pool cues when I fly with them and since I have mostly been traveling to tournaments in the past few years, I have yet to fly without them.

So, because of this, I have an over-sized duffel that and I just throw everything into, cues in the bottom, clothes all around it and on the second story.

In just a few hours, I’ll be boarding a plane for HON by way of PHX & LAX. For the first time in over 7 years, I will not be checking a bag. Since this is a family ‘vacation’ that will not be revolving around pool in any way, I decided I’m not bringing my pool cues.

What did this mean?

  • I had to actually purchase 3oz containers for my liquids, gels, etc. (not because I don’t know how much 3oz is but because I wanted the small, cute, matching containers that would fit handily in my carry-on bag) Typically, I just bring my normal or medium sized bottles and check all my toiletries so I don’t have to worry about it.
  • I had to make sure I didn’t have any nail clippers, cuticle clippers, or sharp tweezers (just in case) with my toiletries.
  • I have one large borrowed backpack and another borrowed carry-on, both from Mike.
  • I went through just about every pocket and extra pouch and bags to remove misc. items that might weigh me down or take up any excess room.
  • I’m only bringing two pairs of shoes. (Yes, seriously.)

The other exciting part of my decision means that I’ll get to walk right up to one of these guys at the airport without having to wait in line to drop off my checked bag.

Last night, I decided to hop on my rollerblades one last go-around before leaving town. I got a little lost along the way but that’s all part of the fun, right? It’s so awesome how late the sun stays out around here (that is, on the days that it actually comes out).

Google estimation:
7.0 miles
36 minutes

I guess if I had some sort of, say, compass or gps or phone or any type of sophisticated modern technology device with me, I might not have gotten lost and I could’ve shaved off that extra half hour or so and done it in the 36 (biking) minutes that they suggested rather than asking the neighborhood kids and parents and random people for directions to get back on the bike trail and getting home in an hour and some change.

I did bring my workout gear, gloves, and gym shoes so I plan to not fall too badly off the wagon this next week.

MAY YOU HAVE A SAFE & FUN 4TH!!!!

